The Barbering Technician Certificate program (no chemicals) includes the 1000 hours of barbering course work as required by Wyoming Law. It combines theory classes, practical work and handson clientele practice. Completion of this program prepares the student for national testing in barbering technology.
The Cosmetology Department is required to register every new incoming student with the Wyoming Board of Barber Examiners within 10 days of the first day of classes. The following documents are required to complete enrollment: Proof of education; Copy of a Governement issued picture ID; Verification of Social Security card; and Proof of lawful presence in the United States.
The Wyoming Board of Barber Examiners may refuse to grant a license to any person who has, at any time, been found guilty of a felony. If you have ever had a felony conviction, please advise the Program Director for information on how to proceed. Failure to do so may result in not being permitted to apply for the Board exam and becoming licensed.
Completion of this program does not guarantee licensure. All students graduating from the Barbering Technician program are required to successfully pass a Board exam administered by the Wyoming Board of Barber Examiners in order to become licensed in the State of Wyoming.
Students wishing to practice Barbering in another state should be aware that licensure requirements vary from state to state. It is the student’s responsibility to investigate any state laws and regulations they wish to become licensed in.
Students must complete all program requirements, including approved electives, with a grade of “C” or better.